Federation Council of Russia ratifies law for ascension of 4 regions


The Federation Council of Russia, the upper house of parliament, confirms the constitutional laws drafted by the State Duma regarding the joining of the DPR, LPR, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions to Russia.

  • The Federation Council of Russia (AmurMedia)

The Committee of the Russian Federation Council on Constitutional Legislation and State Building ratified the constitutional laws concerning the acceptance of the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics (DPR, LPR), as well as the Kherson and from Zaporozhye, Russia. The Committee also recommended that the chamber adopt these documents. The Council is the upper house of the Russian parliament.

Yesterday, October 3, the Russian State Duma, the lower house of parliament, unanimously approved the draft constitutional laws concerning the joining of the entire Donetsk People’s Republic (DPR) and the People’s Republic from Lugansk (LPR), as well as from Kherson and Zaporozhye regions to Russia at the first reading.

Residents of the new constituent entities are recognized, according to the laws of the State Duma, as Russian citizens from September 30, the day the regions join Russia. However, residents have up to one month to refuse Russian citizenship, otherwise, residents of the New Territories can obtain their Russian citizenship by filing applications and taking an oath as Russian citizens.


The new laws, according to the State Duma, dictate that the DPR and LPR will retain their status as republics, while Zaporozhye and Kherson will continue to be treated as “regions”. Russian will be considered the official language of all new voters.

The borders of the republics and regions will be the same as they “existed on the day of their creation and their joining Russia”. According to international agreements, their borders with other nations should be considered the state borders of Russia. It is important to note that in parallel, the DPR and the LPR join Russia under the 2014 borders stipulated in their constitutions.

Accession to Russia

A transition period will exist between the date of accession of the new territories to Russia and January 1, 2026. Russian citizens residing in the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, in particular, would be guaranteed the right to work.

Documents attesting to their training and marital status, as well as their period of employment and eligibility for pensions and social and medical assistance, will also be recognized.

By June 1, 2023, branches of federal government agencies will be established in the new republics and regions.


On January 1, 2023, the Russian ruble will replace the Ukrainian hryvnia as the only currency in the DPR, LPR, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions, however, the use of the Ukrainian hryvnia will be allowed until the end of 2022 In addition, the new constituent entities will implement Russia’s budget legislation on January 1, 2023, with budgets finalized by December 15, 2022.

Putin’s speech

Russian President Vladimir Putin announced at the end of February the official recognition by Russia of the independence of the DPR and the LPR. This has led Ukraine to escalate against the republics and use various tactics to try to undermine their leadership and hurt their civilians.

Putin went on to explain that the opinion of the inhabitants of the liberated regions was not to be discussed with Kyiv. “Russia will not betray them.”

The president promised to protect Russian territories by all means, saying that Moscow would rebuild all leveled towns and villages and support the industrial sector, develop businesses, modernize infrastructure and introduce healthcare systems.

“The West’s claims to world dominance have been shattered more than once by the courage of our soldiers,” Putin said in light of various military feats performed by the Russian military in Ukraine. “Russia is a thousand-year-old country-civilization that will not live by rigged rules.”

“It is the West that has trampled on the principle of the inviolability of borders, and now it is the West that decides who has the right to self-determination and who is ‘not worthy’ of it,” added the Russian leader.

He was referring to the fact that several bodies and states have declared that they will not recognize the regions joining Russia and the fact that the UN Security Council has even decided to condemn the referendums.

The resolution – drafted by the United States and Albania – has no chance of passing thanks to Moscow’s veto, although it could then be presented to the United Nations General Assembly.

Read more: Russian State Duma prepares bill allowing MPs to fight in Ukraine


Comments are closed.